Watch “Suffragette” with LWVN!

LWVN will be showing the movie “Suffragette” at Cabot Park Village on Friday, April 29, at 7:45 pm.  “Suffragette” is about women’s fight for the right to vote in Britain in the early 20th century.  LWVN members are invited to watch with Cabot Park Village residents.  For more information about the movie, click here:  Suffragette

Taking Action Against Climate Change: A Carbon Fee for Massachusetts

Massachusetts, already a national leader in energy efficiency, is poised to take a big step in accelerating the transition to clean energy as proposed legislation for carbon pricing gains support. Our speakers will discuss the need for a carbon pricing program, how it works, who it will impact, and what it will mean for Massachusetts.

Date: Tuesday, May 3
Time: 7:30 p.m.
Location: Westwood Public Library, 660 High Street, Westwood


  • Marc Breslow, Acting Director of Climate Xchange
  • Cathy Buckley, Chair of Massachusetts Sierra Club

For more details and an event flyer click here:  Carbon-Pricing Forum

Co-sponsored by the LWV-Westwood-Walpole-Dedham, LWV-Needham, LWV-Hingham, LWV-Norwood, LWV-Sharon-Stoughton, LWV-Winchester and LWVNewton.

April Topic Meeting: Visioning a Better Washington Street & State Legislation on Transportation


Join us for an open discussion and visioning session on how Washington Street could better serve residents and businesses. We will look at alternatives and discuss their pros and cons. LWVMA Transportation Specialist Lois Levin will also summarize state bicycle bills that affect transportation and safety.

The topic meeting will take place in the NewTV conference room, 23 Needham Street, Newton Highlands, on Wednesday, April 13, from 11:30am – 1pm.  Brown bag lunches welcome!

Local Program Planning this Tuesday, March 29, 2016

Join LWVN members as we discuss proposals and plan next year’s program.  We’ll meet in the conference room at NewTV, 23 Needham Street in Newton Highlands at 7 p.m.

Show your support for single-payer health care bills on Tuesday!

The Joint Committee on Health Care Financing is holding a hearing on the three single-payer health care bills that LWVMA supports on Tuesday, March 22, at 11 a.m. in Gardner Auditorium at the State House.

The bills are:

  •  S.579/H1026, An Act for Medicare for All, which will give all residents quality health care at a price that individuals, businesses and the Commonwealth can afford;
  • S.605/H.1033, An Act to Establish a Public Health Insurance Option, which will create a public option that will give people more choice, and encourage private insurers to reduce cost;.
  •  S.647/H.965, An Act to Ensure Effective Health Care Cost Control, which will provide the data to show which is more cost effective by establishing a three-year comparison of the cost of our present health care system with that of a single-payer system.

Judy Deutsch, LWVMA Legislative Specialist on Health Care,  will be testifying at the hearing on behalf of LWVMA, and would love to have League members for support in the audience.  League members are invited to attend and testify or just listen, or write your opinion and send it to the committee. (Personal stories about why you feel we need single-payer health care are most welcome.)

Return to top of page